A New Bullet Journal for a New Life

Good news! I am back to blogging and a few other hobbies I let die! I got very lazy and complacent recently but with the wedding coming up and tasks piling ever higher, I’ve realized I need to get back to organizing and sharing my life!

You can see my original Bullet Journal here.

I did some research and I found some fresh ideas from some amazingly creative planner addicts. I’m grateful for finding such a wonderful community of sharing. I decided to get the insanely popular Leuchtturm. I loved my soft cover Moleskine but I liked the features the Leuchtturm has that the Moleskin doesn’t. This journal is definitely more lovely, the cover is wonderfully made and the band is much stronger in my opinion. I also love the second bookmark and the stickers for labeling.

The biggest change I’ve included is the Calendex. You can find more info about this method for future planning here (the Bullet Journal site) and here (BohoBerry). I’ve taken heavy inspiration here from Kara at BohoBerry (as I have with a lot of these layouts!). I used her legend for events and paydays, but added highlighted days for when Brian is on call. I like having this at-a-glance method of future planning. I had considered trying the Post-It method that’s under the above link for BohoBerry, and I think it would be perfect for me, but I wanted to give this a try. If it turns out to be too much, then I’ll change it in the next BuJo! I’m just really into trying new things. I throw it all at the wall and see what sticks!

I’m trying to dedicate one day a week to writing and creating Snail Mail for friends, so I’ve included a Snail Mail tracker to record what I send and receive. I love the idea of sending a receiving fun mail, everyone loves getting snail mail that isn’t bills!! I plan on sending handmade pieces, postcards (real and fabricated), and letters. It’s a lot of fun to know you’ve given someone a lil surprise in their mailbox! For tons of Snail Mail inspiration check out my current fave: Naomi Loves. She has a lot of beautiful Snail Mail projects!

Also inspiration from BohoBerry, I started a daily gratitude log. Here I write two things every day that made me thankful for this life. This is one of three journal prompts I’m using at the moment, and I’ll be adding more in May because I have no chill.

I have to start a new diet soon so I’ve stolen even more inspiration from other BuJo addicts and started a meal planner. It’s helped me a lot for organizing possible meals.

My month review and daily pages are stolen directly from Kara at BohoBerry. I’m a shameless thief!!! I love how open the BuJo community is and how much sharing goes on. It makes getting started in Bullet Journalling much easier and a lot more fun.

I also started a brand new thing for my daily tracking: wellness tracking. I really enjoy having a way to log my daily wellness in those five areas: Happiness, Calmness, Energy, Physical Health, and Fulfillment. Then I take that day’s total and put it in the bar chart so I can see over time my general wellness patterns.

I liked the idea of including the weather because it’s cute, but it takes up a lot of room and considering I never leave the house, this information doesn’t do me a lot of good, so I may drop it next month. Another part of my new diet is that I need to take in more water, so I found this adorable water tracker from a fellow BuJo junkie, unfortunately I don’t remember from whom I got this gem :(. I wasn’t sure at first about including the time tracker at the top of each day (BohoBerry again) because I don’t tend to have many planned events, but I like it a lot so far. It’s nice to have a quick way to judge my free time when planning events or squeezing something in at the last moment.

I should note, too, that with the wedding (and another top-secret project) coming up, I’ll be using many of these tools a LOT more than I am now, because I don’t currently have many events.

In a moment of naiveté, I’ve decided to attempt a few different prompts next month to keep my mind active. I’ve already put DecadeThirty‘s self care prompts into my journal, but I’ll also be trying the two other prompt cycles included on Decade Thirty’s site. I’m probably biting off a lot more than I can chew, but I like trying new things and seeing what works.

A big thing I may try next month will be cutting down on color. I’ve read from a few other BuJo addicts that too much color can make their journal look messy or chaotic. I think I agree. I still like color for some accent, but I’m currently using too much and it makes the glance-ability of my Bullet Journal pretty low.

Although I took big inspirations from the above blogs, I took many little notes from all of the following Bullet Journal artists. Please check them all out (I follow them all on Instagram) for lots of lovely ideas:

*Boho Berry – Blog IG
*DecadeThirty – Blog IG
Studyign – YouTube IG
LetteringandPlanning- IG
*OhayBento – Blog IG
Tiny Ray of Sunshine – Blog IG

There are MANY MANY more, but I can’t list them all here. Please visit my Instagram and view who I’m following for even more!

Here all photos of my journal as of now.

 

Leave a Reply

